The Algoa Bay Yacht Club (ABYC) is based in Port Elizabeth, South Africa. Port Elizabeth forms part of the Nelson Mandela Metropole. ABYC has been host to many national and international sailing events.
ABYC exists to; “Foster an interest in sailing” and we and provide the facilities to meet this objective.
An active sailing section, marina, convivial pub and excellent restaurant (The Chartroom) with a great view all combine to make ABYC one of the friendliest venues in the Friendly City.
A rich nautical and competitive sailing history with many resident and visiting characters assure you of a unique Port Elizabeth experience.
Competitive sailing takes place every weekend throughout the sailing season and social Wednesday Evening Sailing is open to all who want to; “try before you buy”.
ABYC is conveniently situated within the precincts of the Port Elizabeth Harbour just north of the National Sea Rescue (NSRI) and Port Elizabeth Deep Sea Angling Club (PEDSAC).
Membership is open to all who express an interest and active participation in sailing and offers many benefits – Apply for ABYC Membership online HERE.
History of ABYC:
The history of Algoa Bay Yacht Club begins in the 1880′s. In this period the waters of the Zwartkops River proved to be a great attraction and the Beaconfield Yacht Club, later named the Zwartkops Yacht Club, came into being in 1884. Further up the river Redhouse Yacht Club was formed in 1904. The river made a wonderful venue for dinghy sailing and in the early years many Provincial and National championships were held there. However, the river was gradually silting up and with more and more yachts competing in less and less water it became inconvenient for large events.
In 1948 an advertisement appeared in the local press inviting any interested parties to attend a meeting at the Edward Hotel with a view to forming a club to use Algoa Bay as a sailing venue. Only nine people put in an appearance, but a committee was formed to pursue the cause. Ronnie Lambson was elected to the chair and Harold Kohler, Ken Pearson and Bill Cross were members. Local Port authorities were far from enthusiastic at the prospect of a number of amateurs cluttering up their harbour and causing mayhem amongst the traffic in and out.
Nevertheless they persevered and eventually a letter was received from the local M.P., Mr.W.M.Oosthuizen, advising that the then Minister for Railways and Harbours, Mr.F.C.Sturrock, had ruled that a piece of land, within the protection of the harbour, be earmarked for a yacht club. Local authorities retaliated by asserting that space limitation precluded this being done. There the matter rested for 22 years.